Grant has released several albums, and more are planned for the future. You can listen and purchase here and on popular services like Apple iTunes, Amazon, Spotify, Google Play, and more.


Dust Bowl • American Stories

Take a trip back in time to the American Great Plains of the 1930s, when a decade long drought ravaged the environment and displaced millions. Hardy, tough folks braved the endless dust storms - "black rollers" that scooped up millions of tons of topsoil and dropped it a thousand miles away. Hear the beating heart of history as told by master songwriter. This album spent 17 weeks on the Billboard charts, including 11 weeks in the top 10.

“Grant’s ability to capture the heartland in his music is amazing ... he has written a heartland masterpiece ... lyrics and music as potent as Woody Guthrie ... sent chills down my spine ... bound to become a classic ... A reminder of the darker period of Bob Dylan, and it’s that good, that memorable...”


"Grant Maloy Smith gives a soundtrack to the land, it’s people, and their passage through an era."

– The Alternate Root



Grant is making a record called "Appalachia - American Stories". He started working on it in 2018, not long after he released "Dust Bowl - American Stories." Like that album, this is a theme album, but it's more personal because his family is from here, going back 10 generations. Central Appalachia is set in the hills of West Virginia, eastern Kentucky, eastern Tennessee, the western part of Virginia and the Carolinas. The beauty of the land is undeniable. The music that came from here is what Grant plays today. What we call "Country", "Bluegrass" and "American Roots" came from here. Instruments like the dulcimer and the banjo took their uniquely American forms here. Singular voices like Bill Monroe, The Carter Family, Larry Cordle, Ralph Stanley... This is the music and the heritage of our land.

Many of the people came over from Scotland and Ireland in the 1700s. The isolation of the hills were a siren song to them, calling them to their new home. Appalachians are fiercely independent people. For a hundred years there has been ridicule and stereotypes about ignorant hillbillies, clan wars, moonshine and the like. But that's not fair: Appalachians are good, hard working people. They are America. Of course there are problems, as there are everywhere. The hills can also breed isolation and loneliness, and cut folks off from the rest of society. But this is also a magnificent land with kind-hearted folks. Grant will celebrate them and their legacy with this album.


All of the folks listed here have pre-ordered this album, so they will be getting it when it comes off the press, before anyone else. The money that these pre-orders generates is what will help me to finance the cost of making the record.

Their names will be in the liner notes of the record. Forever. They will be part of this album until the end of time. If you'd like to have your name here, too - and get a signed, first edition copy of the album when it comes out in 2020 or 2021, please help me make it. It only takes a few moments to do something that will last forever.

To be part of this journey, and to get your name on the album and receive a signed copy of it, please pre-order it from my shop, and I will do the rest!

  • Steve Adams - California

  • Sam Colwell - Virginia

  • Matthew Cummiskey - Rhode Island

  • Dale Enstrom - California

  • Giuseppe Brai - Italy

  • Wilbert Lively - West Virginia

  • Lou Lollio - California

  • Eddie Minyard - New Hampshire

  • Ian Nash - Australia

  • Jack McGarry - Florida

  • Jeanne Acquaviva - France

  • Joshua Geno - Canada

  • Maria MacAskill - Scotland

  • Robert Phillips - California

  • Melania Leis - Massachusetts

  • Cindy Pruitt - Texas

  • Leticia Rodriguez - Texas

  • Dorothy Schmedinghoff - California

  • Nadia Shpachenko - California

  • Ross Scott Manley - UK (No. Ireland)

  • Matthew Slack-Smith - Australia

  • Kelly Triplett - Colorado

  • Danaë Vlasse - California

  • Beverly Warren - Texas

  • Mariea Watkins - Florida

  • Ruth Weber - California

  • Eddie Minyard - New Hampshire

  • Nick Pasyanos - Rhode Island

  • Felix Girard - Nevada

  • Jeanne Stappas - Rhode Island

  • Sonia & Mark Balthazor - California

  • Tyler Johnson - Michigan

  • Tucker D’Abrosca - Florida

  • David S Goldman - New York

  • Stephen Tomporowski - Connecticut

  • Alan Storeygard - Arkansas

  • Dr. John Turco - Rhode Island

  • Dr. Kerry Evers - Rhode Island

  • Linda Smith - Florida

  • Carlos de Cuba - North Carolina


Yellow Trailer

The Critically-acclaimed American Roots Album from Grant Maloy Smith. From barn-burners like "How Long Does A Woman Have To Wait?" to the Celtic-inspired poetry of "The Boy Who Built The Moon," and the simple elegance of "Hold On To Moments," there's something for everyone on this record.

“…Smith’s lyrical work is … impressive from track to track, staying true to folk style storytelling in music while keeping it sounding fresh and enjoyable… an easily addictive sound…charisma and personality derived in the songwriting…”
~ Joe Cirillo, the Aquarian

  • iTunes
  • Amazon
  • Google Play
  • Spotify
  • Bandcamp

All contents © 2020 • All Rights Reserved • Grant Maloy Smith™ is a registered trademark of Suburban Cowboy LLC.